SWORD SWALLOWING AT ASBURY LANES COURTESY OF YARD DOGS

When was the last time you had a night that you knew you would remember for a long time – and be happy about it?

If it’s been a while, a gift is waiting for you this Saturday at Asbury Lanes – the Yard Dogs.

“The Yard Dogs are a rounded and authentic traveling vaudeville show right out of the late 1800’s,” stated Jenn of Asbury Lanes.  “They are one of the only real-deal troops with everything a show like this should be – dancing, singing, sword-swallowing, fire-eating, belly-dancing, poetry and magic.”

The group is returning to Asbury Lanes for the third year and each year Asbury Lanes sells out.  Their show here is one of only three in the Northeast in 2008.

“It’s the best show I have seen in my life and that is saying a lot,” Jenn stated.  “This is a one-of-a-kind experience.  People email me months in advance to find out when Yard Dogs is returning.”

Out of everything I have seen people do with and to their bodies at Howard Stern and Maury Povich – and a lot of it made me want to spoon my eyeballs out afterwards – I have never witnessed a person swallow a sword or eat fire.

I hear after Tobias, the sword swallower, does his thing, he then swallows a Light Saber… and turns it on…and glows.  OMG.

I am totally into this.  I can’t wait for Saturday and I hope you join me.

“The demographic for this show is all over the board,” stated Jenn.  “Everyone you can think of comes, including people you would never expect.”

The Yard Dogs have been stunning audiences since 2000, and spent the summer touring across the country in a bus.

“In an historical sense we are a family-run show,” stated Eddy Jo Cotton, founding member, Yard Dogs and author of “Hobo.”  “We endeavor to operate a values-based business that sustains itself on democracy and creative collaboration.   We are a naturally occurring phenomenon – an unsullied entertainment experience.”

Jenn and her team at Asbury Lanes work tirelessly to bring original entertainment to the area and help the City garner positive exposure.

“Everything we do at Asbury Lanes, we try to create an edge to it,” continued Jenn.

Kids, don’t try this at home.

Yard Dogs at Asbury Lanes, Saturday the 20th.  18 and older.  Doors open at 8 pm, show at 10 pm.  $20 advance / $25 door.  AsburyLanes.com.

Richard@TheBPlot.com

