BRUCE, HOWARD AND THE DONALD

img_19113

Two weeks later, I still get goose bumps when I think about Bruce Springsteen saying to the audience “every time we get ready to go on tour, we come to Convention Hall to find out who we are now, as a band. We don’t really know who we are together until we play in this place.”

For two and a half hours Bruce and his team “found themselves” and gave it their everything at Tuesday’s show. (Additional exclusive video and images below).

I walked in to Convention Hall that night not a Bruce fanatic. Out of the twenty or so songs he sang, I probably recognized four of them. It turns out Bruce is one of those performers that you don’t need to know his entire oeuvre to appreciate him, actually I mean love him.

img_19061

I seriously do have a love for him now. I walked out of Convention Hall a believer that night. I pray at the altar of Bruce Springsteen.

Throughout the show, he did not stop moving – and the audience, including myself, could not stop dancing. Normally stoic straight guys rocked their heads and mouthed the worlds to songs including “Badlands” and “Hard Times”.

It was an amazing Asbury Park moment – seeing the unofficial mayor of Asbury Park perform his brilliant new show in that architecturally brilliant and grandly intimate space…in our own backyard.

It’s a moment I have been looking forward to for years and am so thankful to finally have had the opportunity, thanks to Asbury Park resident Carolyn Curtain.

I told my friends at the Howard Stern Show all about the concert when I saw them last Thursday to tape part of a new special series about the “Best of the ‘90s.”

I joked with Executive Producer, Gary Dell’Abate that the old studios and offices at KROCK were like dumpster diving compared to what the show has now at satellite radio. I just wish the stock price reflected how fancy-pants the studios are. Ug.

img_19242

A new producer from Sirius XM interviewed me for almost two hours about everything involved in my years at the show – from meeting tons of celebs (including Alec Baldwin, Pamela Anderson) to infamous guests (Mary Jo and Joey Butafucco) to memorable moments (Fred’s bachelor party and Howard’s birthdays) to life behind the scenes (arguments, book launches).

I revealed a few insane experiences I have never talked about since my time working for the show. Even Howard will be surprised when he listens to the special. Ah memories.

It was pretty darn special to see one of Howard and Bruce’s friends – Donald Trump – feature two fab Asbury Parkers on his show last week.

President of the Chamber of Commerce, Dan DiBenedetto, and Designer, Anthony Perotta celebrated their birthdays as guests on “Celebrity Apprentice’s” hotel management task.

“A friend of a friend works for the production company and invited us to be part of the show,” said Dan.

Six-foot eight-inch Dennis Rodman loved Dan and Anthony so much that he ditched his team for hours to join them for dinner at the fancy-pants Tao restaurant.

“He ordered everything from the bar and menu and then went back to the hotel right before the bill came,” said Dan, laughing.

Hottie Anthony, what’s it like to be called “honey” by Dennis Rodman while he is holding your hand?

img_1916

img_1912

MORE PHOTOS FROM HOWARD’S STUDIO:

img_1925

img_1923

BENJI, A SHOW WRITER - GREAT BLUE EYES

BENJI, A SHOW WRITER – GREAT BLUE EYES

<

Richard@TheBPlot.com

