ASBURY PARK’S MAYOR TALKS POP CULTURE

WHAT DO YOU HAVE PLAYING IN YOUR IPOD?

Right now I just created a new summer playlist which I mostly listen to at 5:00am in the gym. It includes a collection of everyone from: John Prine, Parliament, Mocedes, KC & The Sunshine Band, India, Van Halen… I like a wide variety of music, mostly “back in the day” stuff!

WHAT PIECE OF TECHNOLOGY COULD YOU NEVER LIVE WITHOUT?

My watch! Time is an important commodity to me. I force myself to leave my watch at home when I go on vacation. It’s hard, but worth it – not to care what time it is – at least for a while.

WHAT PIECE OF TECHNOLOGY COULD YOU ABSOLUTELY LIVE WITHOUT AND WISH WAS NEVER INVENTED?  WHY?

The cell telephone! While it is convenient and I use it, our entire world has turned into a phone booth (work, the movies, plane, train, sidewalk, restaurants). People don’t seem to have manners with regard to disturbing the peace with their cell telephone.  There are no rules..you can talk as loud as you want, wherever you want, about whatever you want.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE MEAL?

 My grandmother’s smothered chicken & rice and all the fixins. Followed by her homemade Coconut/Pineapple Cake! Mmmmmm! A close second is Maryland Crabs! On vacation, I can sit for a 3 hour crab pickin’ & beer session with no problem!

CHARCOAL OR GAS GRILL FOR BACKYARD BBQS?

Charcoal. I know it’s not too green of me, but charcoal just adds something to the flavor. I do understand the attraction of a good gas grill – ready to BBQ instantly! 

WHAT IS THE FIRST WEBSITE YOU LOOK AT IN THE MORNING?

Usually MSNBC.com to catch up on the overnight news. I can be a news junky, flipping between Morning Joe, CNN & several local channels in the morning. 

WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE WEBSITES, IN GENERAL?

I spend a lot of time on Redskins.com during football season. I am also a definite internet shopper – Overstock.com, Amazon.com & Vermont Country Store.com are some of my favorite websites.  

WHAT IS YOUR FAVE MOVIE OF ALL TIME? 

Well my partner Jeff will argue (he puts up with me since I make him watch several silly movies). But I would have to say my all time favorite is Imitation of Life with Lana Turner…It’s all about Lana!.. get with it or get out!  

FAVORITE ALL-TIME SONG?

Rock Me Gently by Andy Kim. It’s the song that introduced me to my partner…but that’s another story…. 

WHAT ENTERTAINMENT SHOWS (NON NEWS) DO YOU WATCH ON TV?

My favorite over this past year was Friday Night Lights…very addicting! When I can, I watch Sordid Lives or Star Trek Original & Next Generation (yes, I am a trekie)

WHAT WAS THE FIRST MUSIC CONCERT YOU EVER WENT TO AS A TEEN?

That was last century! I went to see Meatloaf in the original Bat Out of Hell Tour. Funny, I just saw him again this past year at Paramount Theater. Talk about your life being circular. 

“DANCING WITH THE STARS” OR “AMERICAN IDOL”?

Neither! 

DO YOU HAVE A CRUSH ON A CELEBRITY OR DO YOU FIND A CELEBRITY INTRIGUING RIGHT NOW?  WHO?

Crush? I would say Pam Oliver of Fox Sports. She is hard as nails! You gotta be tough to hold your own against NFL Players.  Intrigued by? French President Nikolas Sarkozy. His charm and intelligence, I find him to be a very intriguing leader.

WHAT IS SOMETHING ABOUT YOU THAT WE WOULD BE SURPRISED TO LEARN?

I started my career working at McDonalds in high school…now I’m Mayor…coincidence? You be the judge! 

WHAT TANGIBLE OBJECTS DO YOU LOVE AND WHY?

My beach chair which has every Asbury Park Beach Tag for the past 14 summers on it. I can look at each tag and chuckle over each summer’s “shenanigans”. Unfortunately (or fortunately) they seem to get less and less as time goes by.  I guess that’s means I’m growing up (or is that growing old?)

WHAT ARE YOUR CATS NAMES AND HOW DID YOU CHOOSE THE NAMES?

Jeff and I have 2 farm tabby cats from my high school in South Jersey. They are 14 years old and have never been separated since birth. Both are very unique in personality, at times they act like they have never seen each other before.  Jane – The name just came to me. She is quick with the claws & not to be messed with.  Elmira – Named after the Looney Tunes Character that just loves you to death. She’s gonna love you whether you want it or not.

