NEW NON-PROFIT GIVES “GOOD KARMA”

Karma was in full spirit Saturday evening as good friend of Asbury Park, Dawn Brindle, launched the new not for profit Give Good Karma, founded on the belief that small and local acts of kindness and support can make a the world of difference.  

“I was looking for a way to give back for a while and it came to me last Christmas Eve,” said Dawn.  “I was standing in line at a coffee shop.  There was a woman in line in front of me, someone I had never seen before. As the woman was leaving, she turned to me, handed me a gift card, and wished me a ‘Merry Christmas’.

“At that moment it hit me … pay it forward. That stranger’s random act of kindness really effected me, and I thought if such a small act of kindness could make such a big difference to me, why wouldn’t it do the same for others.  On a small scale the site’s goal is to hopefully inspire people to be kind … on a larger scale it will hold a number of fundraisers throughout the year for specific charities like First Candle (SIDS education).”

The festive and funny launch of Give Good Karma featured a dinner and comedy show by comics Joseph Anthony (Howard Stern Show, Last Comic Standing Season 4 winner), Mike Bocchetti (“Howard Stern Show,” “Last Comic Standing,” “The Mike Bocchetti Show” Shovio.com Tuesdays at 3pm), Craig Loydren (“The WTF Show”), Ken Burmeister (“The Mike Bocchetti Show”) and Tony Landolfi (various clubs in metro area). 
 
I hear Give Good Karma will be hosting a number of events in 2010, including: Walk for a Cure, Bachelor Auction, Golf Tornament, Poker Tournament and a Dinner Dance w/Silent Auction.
 
“We are still finalizing the details regarding the specific organizations that these events will raise money for,” said Dawn.  “I encourage charity suggestions from our supporters – especially my friends in Asbury Park. We are always looking for great ways to give good karma.”

If there is one lady I know who has the personality, energy and honesty to influence the Karma Spirits, it is Dawn – a dear friend for almost two decades.

Click here for more information on or to donate to, Give Good Karma.

Richard@TheBPlot.com

THEBPLOT = AREA’S MOST READ

