ON PINS AND NEEDLES: LOCAL ACUPUNCTURIST TALKS SHOP

The closest I have ever come to acupuncture was a voodoo doll of my ex.

That is, until my conversation last week with acupuncturist Rob Balko of Atlantic Center for Acupuncture in Neptune. 

ESPERANZA’S NEW HIRE… WATERMARK’S NUDE, ERR NEW ENTERTAINER… WANAMASSA’S NEW BRIDGE PROTESTS… & MORE IN ‘YOU SAY WHO’ RIGHT NOW!

TBP:  In your “previous life” you were a techy-type guy.  You have been an acupuncturist since 2005.  How did you find your way to acupuncture? 

Rob:  I was a bit skeptical about acupuncture initially, as a lot of people are.

In the late 1990’s I was working a lot, living in airports, eating junk.  I got really sick and a friend suggested visiting an acupuncturist and I thought I would give it a try.

I was amazed at what he could do.  I lost 15 pounds and felt 1000 times better.  How he diagnosed and treated me was wonderful and I thought if I could treat people like this, I would be fulfilled as a person and I could make a difference in people’s lives.

When a patient gets off the table and is able to move without pain it makes my week.

TBP:  Great, but how does acupuncture work?

Rob:  Acupuncture works on the 2000 year old Chinese Channel Theory – everything in the body is connected by channels, which is the modern day neurological network.  Despite being documented more than 2000 years ago, it shares 21st Century influences – we can verify that a treatment is or is not working. 

Acupuncture works on a lot like migraines, dizziness, headaches, all types of pain, diabetes, respiratory problems, sex drive, allergies, insomnia and fertility.

The other day I met the new baby girl an Ocean Township client had.  She came to me after three years and years of failed fertility treatments.

A florist came to because she was taking Claritin twice a day because she was allergic to Lilies, Hyacinths and other flowers.   I treated her in March of 2009 and she is still allergy-free.

More and more people are taking charge of their own health and not relying on others to think for them.  They are coming to me first, instead of a last resort.   

TBP:  Bust the most common misconceptions about acupuncture.

Rob:  Okay.  One is that patients need to keep coming back.   I want people to get well and go on with living their lives.  The best referral is when a client who I have treated and not seen in a while sends in a friend struggling with a similar health issue.

TBP:  Another myth would have to be about the pain associated with the needles.  I just let you put needles in me and a mosquito bite hurt more.  It kind of looks a little creepy though. 

Rob:  The needles are hundredths of millimeters – .25 and .16 millimeters. You can barely see the needles they are so small.       

TBP:  Gosh, voodoo doll needles are bigger.

Rob is offering The Coaster and TheBPlot readers 10 percent off their first visit for the next week.  Call him at 732.775.0033. 

Richard@TheBPlot.com

THEBPLOT = AREA’S #1

