ROAD TRIP 9’s COMIC MAGGIE CASSELLA TALKS TOPLESS BEACH AND MORE

Comic Maggie Cassella kicks off Road Trip next Thursday evening (July 15) with a rocking show at the Stone Pony that delivers laughs with rants and raves about current events and pop culture – “social commentary without the finger wag,” according to her website.

AN OVERLOOKED ARCHITECTURAL FEATURE – THE SLING… ROAD TRIP 9 TEASERS… AND MORE RIGHT NOW IN NEW “YOU SAY WHO”!!!

I called the very funny Maggie for a rant prior to her raves.  We were all over the place with the interview but I think it worked.

TBP:  As a comic, is there anything funny about the oil spill in the gulf?

Maggie:  Good question.  Absolutely not – and I will draw a diagram of just how funny it is not and post it on my website, then draw another one and another one and another one in my attempt to keep proving how funny it is not.  Eventually I hope to prove that it is not funny.  I expect I will have that done by sometime in August…

They need to stop calling it a “spill”.   You can clean up a spill with a Bounty paper towel.  Oh, and we need to be as angry about this at whomever is responsible as we would be if it was something done by a group of terrorists.

TBP:  Totally agree.  Some say we will see the effects of the spill in our waters here.  A huge concern is how this may affect the proposed topless beach in town.

Maggie:  No one should see me topless.  If it wasn’t for all of the risks of surgery I’d have “the girls” done.  And not bigger… shorter.  Sadly, it’s been that way my whole life.  What are you gonna do?

TBP:  Shifting gears, you have interviewed Phyllis Diller, Joan Rivers, Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law and a ton more bold-faced names on your shows and for the celebrity show “Extra!” 

I just had one of my worst interviews ever with a fancy-pants author promoting his latest book.  He gave me nothing – just one-word answers and I learned zero.  Totally unpublishable.  I wanted to reach through the phone and smack him with his book.  Who was the most difficult interview for you?

Maggie:   You’re funny.  No one who ever wants to do another celebrity interview would answer that question honestly, right?  An interview is work, so occasionally I have had to endure a bad one.

Actually, Eartha Kitt was my hardest and my most rewarding.  She was an hour late.  There was a back-up of ten reporters waiting behind me.  I was first in line.  She slumped in her chair and would not make eye contact with me.

I had to win her over or I would have been lost in front of my colleagues not to mention personally crushed. By the end of the interview she was on one knee singing to me and I’m pretty sure I got the vapours.

TBP:  How fab.  What can we expect at the Stone Pony?

Maggie:  The history of the Stone Pony makes me puke with nerves – there I said it. 

What can you expect?  Relatable stories that appeal to a wide audience because I am THAT comic.  Okay, seriously, some stories and a bunch of current events-related spewage… with visual aids.

With Maggie at the Stone Pony is the all-girl rock band “Betty”:  tickets at AwwMama.com.

Richard@TheBPlot.com

THEBPLOT = AREA'S #1

