NO LAWYER CAN STOP ME FROM LOVING SNOOKI: THEBPLOT MOMENT

Please don’t hate me because I love Snooki.In front of the "Jersey Shore" house

I love hearing the name Snooki.  I also love seeing it on paper.  It makes this Jersey Boy smile.

‘SHOW ME SOMEONE WHO NEVER GOSSIPS AND I’LL SHOW YOU SOMEONE WHO ISN’T INTERESTED IN PEOPLE’ – Barbara Walters… BE INTERESTED IN PEOPLE… NEW “YOU SAY WHO” RIGHT NOW!!!

I love her because she provides a much-needed pop culture distraction from my job, the economy, friend’s health issues, the oil spill and a poof or two more.

And I had to go to Seaside Heights and tell her.

Yes, I love her iconic “poof” hairstyle and cluelessly questionable wardrobe consisting primarily of Technicolor animal print tank tops emblazoned with raunchy statements that usually end in “just add alcohol” accessorized by $3000 Gucci handbags, $400 sunglasses and $5 flip flops.

And I especially love her “I don’t give a flip” attitude.  Underneath it all she is a woman coming into herself.  Snooki takes no nonsense from any guy.

Right before my moment with Snooki and Pauly D“Jersey Shore” is at its most funny when the girls go clothes shopping at what they call a “tranny store” because it is the only store in Miami with “good style like New York”; when Snooki and Mike “The Situation” constantly wear sunglasses inside their house while walking around with red Solo plastic cups; when a platter of marinating chicken breasts falls to the floor in front of three adults and they go to a fourth to figure out what to do (clean it up!).

They slay me when discussing an evening wardrobe over egg white omelets – the metrosexual guys plan “shirts before shirts” changing immediately before leaving for the night; when I think I need subtitles to watch the show because they are all talking with marbles in their mouths; when the crew refers to hitting on people as “doing work”; or when discussing their job Ronnie chimes in with “I don’t think about work till I’m there”.

I am jealous.

Genuine personality, in any form – including unstable – is compelling, no matter how contrived the TV moment is.  It really makes me laugh.

Some believe that My Snooki and her cast mates portray Italian-Americans in a negative light.

As a half Italian-American, I suggest the former hit show “Growing Up Gotti” – featuring a dysfunctional family whose lives were, in my opinion, funded by, to be polite, criminal activity, did worse for our demographic than five horny twentysomethings, being horny twentysomethings in a Seaside Heights beach house.

Anyone throwing stones at the very-tan Snooki – think back to what you did in your twenties.  The shore is an integral component of the mating ritual of the twentysomething.

I remember when Snooki and friends’ mantra of “gym, tan, laundry” was this Jersey Boy’s weekend motto while sharing a three bedroom home with 10 friends around Belmar earlier this decade.

There are Belmar moments I would like to forget, as I would bet there are a few moments Snooki will want to forget in 10 years. 

I went to Seaside Heights last week to send My Snooki some good energy.  Just me and 100 of her biggest fans, as it turned out. 

I seized my moment, though, and walked past the production assistants and voluminous amounts of security guards and police to stand three feet away from Snooki while they were taping at the t-shirt store, Shore Stuff.

Hoping to engage her, I started with the original “Hi, Snooki.”

Confused, she put down her lip gloss and looked immediately at a producer, trying to determine if I was a curve-ball thrown into the show.  Seemingly unable to talk unless prompted by the production department, she replied “Hey” and then looked quizzically at Pauly D, who was standing next to her.

My big moment with her was a big question mark in her eyes.

No matter, I still love her… and am awaiting the restraining order.

Richard@TheBPlot.com

AREA’S MOST-READ

SNOOKI FANS UNITE – TWEET THIS STORY BY CLICKING ON THE ICON BELOW 

