“STATEN ISLAND CAKES” VINNY BUZZETTA: SHOW WAS “HUGE ADJUSTMENT”

There is a new King of Cakes in town – he is 21 years old and from Staten Island.  Michael Cook spoke with Vinny Buzzetta in anticipation of his new WE TV show, “Staten Island Cakes”…

Vinny stands next to his "Gym, Tan, Laundry" cake

Michael:  How did you get started making such interesting cakes?  Everything you create is a work of art, like a sculpture.

Vinny:  I’ve always loved cakes, desserts, things like that. I used to watch “Ace Of Cakes” and was so interested in what they were doing. My first cake was for a Sweet 16 party for my sister out of styro.  It was so realistic that everyone thought it actually was real.

Michael:  How hard is it to have cameras follow you daily for your new show “Staten Island Cakes”? And how is your partner Spiro handling the attention?

Vinny:  It was a huge adjustment at first. I’m usually very shy with people, and it really was hard in the beginning. Once you get used to it, it’s great though. As for Spiro, he loves the attention. He’s totally different from me in that respect, he’s very outgoing and is actually a dancer/choreographer. He definitely loves the attention.

Michael:  Who’s your “dream client” to design a cake for?

Vinny:  Wow, I don’t know. Probably (“Modern Family” star) Sofia Vergara. I follow her on Twitter and I absolutely love her!

Michael:  It take a lot of time and effort, what’s the craziest cake that you’ve ever had to design?

Vinny:  Well, on the show you see me design the one for Angelina (from MTV’s “Jersey Shore”), which even had “guidos” on it.  I don’t think I could choose just one, but I’m always up for a challenge.

Michael:  Do you think that comparisons to other shows such as “Cupcake Wars” or “Cake Boss” are fair?

Vinny:  Honestly, not really. The things is, our show is not really “cake focused”, the cakes are really secondary. My family is definitely the focus of the show.

Michael:  What’s next for The Cake Artist?

Vinny:  Well of course, I would love to do another season of “Staten Island Cakes”. I definitely would love to do some books also. Right now I’m only 21, I want to live my life to be full of adventure!

“Staten Island Cakes” is on Tuesdays at 9 pm on WETV.  Click here for more info about Vinny’s cake and cookie shop.   Click here for a preview and more about the show.

Vinny reveals the recipe for his famous Vanilla Butter Cake here.

Mykeyc76@aol.com

AREA'S MOST-READ FOR FOUR YEARS!

