FORMER BEAUTY PARLOR IS PRETTY FAB: INSIDE LOCAL NOTABLE HOME

In the 1930’s, Edward’s Beauty Salon on Grand Avenue was one happening place.  A place where local ladies gathered to exchange the latest gossip while sitting under hair dryers almost as big as airplane engines.

Entrance to 705 Grand Avenue

Current owner of the re-engineered open-floor plan home Robb Levinsky knows this better than anyone.

“Every once in a while an older woman will knock on my door and engage me about the history of where I live,” said Levinsky.  “I love that they want to tell me their memories of this place.”

Thirteen foot high walls transition into an intricately embossed tin moulding and ceiling. The extra large skylight crowns the living room.

Levinsky, founder of Kenwood Racing, has owned the one-of-a-kind deco-style property formerly known as Edward’s Beauty Salon for a decade.

“I had been living in California and wanted to be closer to my family,” said Levinsky.  “A friend introduced me to Asbury Park and – despite their being, I think, one store open on Cookman Avenue – I immediately saw its potential and began my search for a home.

“I was moved by this house when I walked in.  The openness, the Deco style and the architecture, added to the fact that I could walk to downtown and the beach made the house very attractive to me.”

Original steel and glass french doors lead to the living room, formerly Edward's Beauty Salon's waiting room.

The home – featured in The New York Times Magazine Home Design issue in October 1994 – touts 13 foot high walls, original oak wood floors, tin ceilings, spectacular fruitwood paneling, deco radiator covers and wrought iron 10 foot tall windows that open to elegant gardens Levinsky “spends hours relaxing in,” as well as a spectacular terra cotta facade.

“I love the garden space.  It is completely private and much larger than one would ever think,” said Levinsky.  “The gardens with the airy inside floor plan give the property a European feel of light and space.  It is so tranquil here despite being right on the edge of downtown.”

Arched sitting areas grandly frame the front door.Glass and steel southern-exposure windows provide light and views of the tips of taller buildings downtown a few blocks away.

The modernized two bathroom home with loft also has all the new amenities one would crave, including a new kitchen, steam shower, storage space and plenty of room for guests and entertaining.

A fig tree, Wysteria and seasonal flowers are highlights in the garden and patio areas which line the left side and rear of the property.

Truly one of the most unique properties available in Asbury Park.

Oversized steel and glass windows with a southern exposure offer a glimpse of the building tops a few blocks away downtown

Offered by the Conover Agency.  Click here for the complete property listing or call Anthony Newarski for more information at 732.693.8042.

Richard@TheBPlot.com

Find out how Conover realtors make "real estate about you" at ConoverNJ.com. Click on the photo.

