“I AM THE FLAVA THE SHOW NEEDS”: JERSEYLICIOUS’ MIGUEL RODRIGUEZ

Miguel “Allure” Rodriguez is a castmember of what’s being called a “docu-soap” on the Style network, Jerseylicious.  Michael Cook spoke with Miguel, last week about the current season of the show and his plans for the future…

Miguel Rodriguez of Jerseylicious

Michael:  How did you get your start in the world of hair and makeup?

Miguel:  In 2002, I moved to Pennsylvania to refocus my life and take a break from the club scene. I was also in search of a job, and to begin my “new life.” One day, a friend of mine told me that his prestigious salon was looking for a salon assistant. For me, this was a career I never thought I would end up in. I saw it as a new experience and a chance to make some revenue. I took the job and in a year, while working for the salon full time, I realized that I’d found my passion and I headed back to Jersey to start cosmetology school in NYC, and eventually I graduated from Paul Mitchell Academy. Thus my career began.

Michael:  You’re the newest star of Style Network’s hit show “Jerseylicious”. What made you initially want to try out?

Miguel:  I’ve always been a tremendous personality, all throughout my life, even you (Cookie) know that. For the past decade I’ve competed for many different accolades in my life, and after winning Mr. Gay New Jersy 2009 and successfully completing my reign, I wanted a bigger platform to express myself and TV was always a dream of mine. So while working at the Gatsby, I was told that they were looking for a new character for the show and I felt this was my time to show off, you know. I contacted the producers and was allowed to audition for them. After a couple of weeks, I made it through and long story short, I am the flava the show needs and it’s been a life changing experience.

Michael:  How does it feel to be the first openly gay cast member of “Jerseylicious? Was the cast welcoming?

Miguel:  Being the first openly gay character on Jerseylicious to me makes perfect sense! You can’t have a reality show about a salon and not have at least one gay character, and I really feel honored to represent New Jersey once again and actually share my life with you!  The cast and crew have been exceptional towards me; I feel like I was the missing piece.

Michael:  Ok, you must have some inside dish for us on the show.

Miguel:  Here’s some “T” for you, there is a chance that a global hairstylist team may be purchasing the Gatsby and starting a salon chain in New Jersey. (basically, we may be out of a job).

Michael:  On the “Glam Fairy” side, John is another openly gay cast member. Have you guys gotten to meet up yet? Any competition.

Miguel:  Unfortunately, John and I have not met but we both are supportive on our twitter pages and I look forward to meeting him soon. As for competition, we do entirely different occupations and are totally different people. Plus, I am always ready to compete and have had a high track record of success. A good friend once told me this saying and I totally agree with the mantra of it. “I may not be the best in the world, but I dare you to be better than me.”

Michael:  You have huge connections to the gay community of New Jersey and are extremely well-known. Tell me about your “other family”.

Miguel:  I have to say after being openly gay for over a decade and being a social butterfly, I met pretty much the entire gay community of New Jersey and if it wasn’t for them, I would not be the person I am today.

When I refer to my gay family, it consists of the people who affected my life tremendously and have stood by my side through thick and thin. I’ve been fortunate enough in my life to never burn a bridge and never take sides. So naturally I’ve become close to all the New Jersey gay houses. They are my family and I love them all for the times we shared and to my “ride or die’s.”  I love you.

Michael:  Bethenny Frankel spun reality show gold with Skinnygirl Margarita, and Christian Siriano is a huge name in fashion after “Project Runway”. Any chance we may see a Miguel Rodriguez hair or makeup product line?

Miguel:  You never know but bet that when I do it, it’s going to be at the right time and the right product.

Michael:  “Jerseylicious” will be closing out the show soon. What’s next for Miguel? Will you be staying at The Gatsby?

Miguel:  Right now the Gatsby is where I belong and now that I have this opportunity I am going to take this and run so stay tuned and get ready New Jersey.

“Jerseylicious” airs on the Style Network.  Click here for more.

mykeyc76@aol.com

AREA'S MOST-READ FOR A REASON!

