“WORTH HIS WEIGHT IN GOLD”: MECHANIC BILL RUGGE OF AUTOTEK

“He’s the only guy I trust around here,” an Asbury Park resident recently said to me about Bill Rugge, owner of Autotek in Bradley Beach.  “A good mechanic that you trust is worth more than his weight in gold and that’s Bill.”

I could not agree more.  If you need a mechanic, look to Rugge’s family-owned business.  How many stories are there of criminals posing as mechanics?  I have about three from Acura of Ocean Township before a local recommended Autotek to me about five years ago.

Below, an exerpt from The Coaster and TheBPlot’s feature story about Rugge from 201o…

“It used to be that all you needed was a screwdriver, pair of pliers and a hammer,” he said.  “Today, it’s a lot more complicated -$10,000 worth of equipment – but the best tool is still experience and your head.”

Sitting in his waiting room last week, it is clear that his customers realize Bill is the trusted King of Cars – I hear over and over again “Oh, Bill’s got it” or “Yeah, Bill knows what he is doing, I’m not concerned.”

When he is not putting something together or taking something apart –  he rebuilt the engine of a 1967 Ferrarri 330GTC for fun – he is usually listening to a CD from his collection of more than 3,000 or re-reading one of his Hot Rod or Car Craft auto magazines – he has a complete collection beginning in 1950.

“I am a motor head through and through – I have always just been into cars,” said Bill.  “I taught my mother to drive a car before I was old enough to have my license.”

Call Autotek at (732) 7747979.  Click here for the complete The Coaster and TheBPlot article.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE COASTER - ASBURY PARK AREA'S AWARD-WINNING WEEKLY FOR MORE THAN A QUARTER-CENTURY.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE COASTER – ASBURY PARK AREA’S AWARD-WINNING WEEKLY FOR MORE THAN A QUARTER-CENTURY.

