IF AARON CARTER WASN’T A SINGER, HE’D BE…

You may know Aaron Carter from his fifth place finish on “Dancing with the Stars” Season 9 or from his bubble gum singing stardom or – like I do – from standing next to his brother, Nick Carter, of the 1990’s-era “Backstreet Boys.”

Most recently, the oddly handsome Carter was on Broadway, getting positive reviews, for the revival of “The Fantastics.”  Now, he is back to his roots singing his tween-age hits in his new tour “After Party,” which makes a stop in Asbury Park tonight.  Judging by the Twitter response, his fans from around North America could not be more thrilled.

With short answers that reveal very little, his conversation with me is a case study on how not to conduct yourself in a feature interview – save this if you ever expect to speak with a reporter about your life.  (Read The Coaster and TheBPlot’s interview with Debbie Gibson or Wendy Williams to see how pros and masters of the media answers questions).

After postponing our interview three times, I got his attention, thanks to his fatigued publicist but he did not answer any of the questions you sent me on Twitter and Facebook.  [Note, my editorializing post-interview is in parentheses below. Carter was not given an opportunity to respond.]

Aaron-Carter

Aaron Carter’s “After Party” tour – his first in more than a decade – hits the Stone Pony in Asbury Park. Carter finished a Broadway run in “The Fantastics” recently, with strong reviews.

TBP:  You have been singing for almost two decades.  If you were not a performer what do you think you would be doing for a career?

Carter:  It is hard to say whether or not I would be in music, but it is likely that I would be into doing some sort of teaching, following in the footsteps of my late grandfather, Douglas Spaulding.

TBP:  Some feel that there is no such thing as a “rock star” nowadays.  With video games and iPhones, geeks are the new stars attracting the big money and rabid fans.  What do you think?

Carter:  I think it is all about preference. There is something out there for everybody.

TBP:  (Okay, that completely does not answer the question.)  You are going on tour for the first time in years, after great reviews in the “Fantastics.”  What would we find most surprising about your tour rider?

Carter:  My rider is actually simple.  I don’t require much and my team takes good care of me. Anything I need is always there. So maybe that is surprising, considering the requests I have heard about?

TBP:  (Well, in an interview published earlier this week, you discussed Lay’s potato chips.  This was a softball to play with to share something fun about you on tour.)  Your show “After Party” comes to the legendary Stone Pony tonight (March 7).  What does it mean for a singer to share a stage that has such a long and rich musical history?

Carter:  It is great to be in venues that hold this sort of history.  Always great vibes.  I am so excited and grateful to be doing what I love again and will give everything I have at every single show.

TBP:  (Okay, but can you talk a little about your show for crepes sake?)  How do you keep your most popular songs fresh to you and relevant to your fantastic fans?

Carter:  The way my fans respond to my older material revitalizes them instantly.  I am proud of all of my work and have plans to make more music that has this sort of impact on people.

TBP:  (Like what?)  Our area is still repairing itself emotionally and physically from Superstorm Sandy.  Music is in our blood here and keeps us energetic and engaged.  How do you manage stressful times on tour?

Carter:  I have my manager, who is also my best friend, to help me get through stressful situations and obstacles. He is a very positive influence in my life.

TBP:  (Well, that question was an opportunity for your fans to learn about you as an adult in a real and new way… guess not.)  Growing up in Florida, I am thinking the beach is in your blood, like most of us here.  Are you looking forward to hitting the Jersey Shore?

Carter:  Yes, and I am hoping I run into Snooki.

After Party” with Aaron Carter, tonight (Thursday, March 7, 7 pm).  Tickets are $19 and general admission at the Stone Pony.  Follow Carter on Twitter and visit his website, aaroncarternow.com.  

Richard@TheBPlot.com

SUBSCRIBE TO THE COASTER - ASBURY PARK AREA'S AWARD-WINNING WEEKLY FOR MORE THAN A QUARTER-CENTURY.

SUBSCRIBE TO THE COASTER – ASBURY PARK AREA’S AWARD-WINNING WEEKLY FOR MORE THAN A QUARTER-CENTURY.

